First Snow, Gatineau (Hull) Quebec

This is the post excerpt.

Amazing photo of traffic vehicle lights, urban beauty and abstract dancing forms, avant garde expressive photography. I took this shot during the first snowfall of winter 2016 – 17, Gatineau (Hull) Quebec, Canada. Snowflakes fell for several minutes in late October 2016. It’s now February 2017 and this winter we’ve had more snow than ever! Unbelievable! I love snow and ice and will be posting plenty of gorgeous chilling photos over the rest of the winter season. Spring is on the way … but why rush it?

In this photo the cars and other vehicles are coming off the Alexandria Bridge, after crossing the Ottawa River from Ottawa Ontario to Hull (Gatineau) Quebec. Dynamic energy and very pretty!

Author: M Sylvia Chaume

Hi! I'm Canadian artist Sylvia, coming to you from the wintery northern climes of Gatineau (Hull) Canada! I'm still populating my blog in bits and pieces, not to mention figuring out things that should be easy, but aren't and take that much extra time ... so hang out and enjoy! Please also visit my visual arts home decor store for gifts, original art, novelties and dynamic nature themes at www.zazzle.com/m_sylvia_chaume* . Thank you and many happy blessings! https://www.zazzle.com/m_sylvia_chaume . As a person with a multitude of interests and a great love of art, I work in photography, video, and other visual arts; music and songwriting, theater, mixed media, content writing, text art, rock art and sculpture. I'm a big fan of black and white art. My hobbies include geology and wildlife biology. I have two cats: Rajah, an old deaf fellow with arthritis, and Traveler, a young tom whose mom was my rescue cat! He was one of a litter of four. We found homes for everyone else but Traveler, despite his name, decided to stay with me. Ok, then. Last summer I documented a nest of European Paper Wasps right outside my back door and look forward to showing you some amazing video clips of these elegant intelligent insects. I also created several "swamps-in-a-jar" and have some footage of the mystic and fascinating creepy critters that may be found in your drains, pipes and standing water. I love the artwork of Nature as well as art that pushes limits and challenges the senses; Pop Art, photo art, any kind of collage, classic and contemporary kitsch; black and white, monochrome. My environment is my favorite subject matter - local scenes, urban streets, small town quirks, seasonal happenings, natural textures, gardens, flowers, animals, the nice and not so nice - what is real - souvenir photos and other original art gifts and products you can get at my spiffy online store: https://www.zazzle.com/m_sylvia_chaume. Subject matter covers a broad range including micro and macro, gardens and flowers, nature, natural beauty and the power of the elements; critters of many kinds; coffee; comedy, entertainment; social observations; documentation; tourist hot spots in this area, practical info, funny stuff and irreverent rantings; to whit - fun and good cheer! I'm a hockey fan and love a good game, but would rather watch it than play it. Favorite music includes blues, swing, punk, classic rock, classical music. I play some guitar and A professional writer, I've written original articles and website content, plays, poetry, fiction and non, musical theatre, songs, haiku, and some very non-Zen personal expressions about whatever nags my obsessive little mind. I adore and appreciate my readers, and welcome all feedback. Here you will find tips, details and lots of information about artistic expression, photo techniques, writing, social commentary, historical and modern architecture, music, cats, other animals great and small; the magic of serendipity; dreams, happiness, love and relationships; medicinal and wild edible plants; philosophy, motivational quotes and amusing anecdotes. Having spent the summer documenting a nest of European paper wasps through photo and video you can be sure I'll be sharing what I've learned, as well as advice about not getting stung! So, topics tend to be eclectic. I sincerely hope you'll join me here. Happy blessings one and all!

Leave a Reply

